Language switcher

Stay in touch!

If you would like to join our supporters mailing list, you can click on this link below and subscribe to our list:

Supporter

If you would like to join our new mailing list to keep updated on our work, you can click on this link below and subscribe to our list

Infomails

Support us

Wenn du an unserer Arbeit interessiert bist oder uns unterstützen willst, melde dich doch einfach!

Email: info(at)women-in-exile(dot)net

Geldspenden:
Spenden-Konto:
Women in Exile e.V.
IBAN: DE21430609671152135400
BIC: GENODEM1GLS (GLS Bank)
Spendenquittung für Einmalspenden bis 200 € zum selbst ausdrucken hier. Für das Ausstellen von Spendenquittungen benötigen wir Deine/Ihre Anschrift.

Thanks!

Our work is supported by:




Viral fonds
postcode logo
rls logo

REPORT: 20 Years Women in Exile & Friends “Breaking Borders to Build Bridges” – International Conference

We kicked off our International conference “Breaking Borders to Build Bridges” with an opening ceremony on the 4.8.2022 in the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung Berlin with a powerful performance and singing of our freshly formed interreligious choir. In attendance were national and internal guests, overall 250 women* and children. The International conference carried a lot of activities and thus had to be of the same magnitude. The event was meant to celebrate 20 years of Women in Exile and the launching of our collectively self-written book by both women in exile & friends and supporters.

For the whole conference, Women in Exile & Friends had planned different themes for the workshops. We had workshops geared towards gender-specific reasons to flee; exploitation, marginalization and violence.

In a panel discussion with activists from our networks from IWS, Flit* Solidarity Africa, Respect and activists from WIE Rostock and WIE, the topic was: “What does it mean to live with insecure residence or without papers?” Experiences were shared and suggestions for solutions were discussed.

In another panel discussion, women from Afghanistan and Ukraine talked about war and women. The difficulties women in these countries go through and all the countries experiencing war, for example, Jemen. Women are the ones who are mainly affected by wars. They experience multiple suffering as victims of military aggression and are important part of civil resistance: as displaced people, key workers (in healthcare, for example), volunteers, community leaders, fundraisers, combatants, and campaigners. The experiences of women from Iran were also shared on this panel.

On the theme of Solidarity and Praxis, we had Florence Sissako give a workshop on what solidarity is and how it is experienced in daily life. Florence also facilitated the reading of our book “Breaking Border to Build Bridges”. In this theme, we had book reading sessions from our newly published book which tells not only the different reasons for fleeing and migration but also the experiences while on the way. It also served as an opportunity to bring out the difficulties experienced by the women within the asylum system and can be used to educate people without asylum background.

Topics on the right to asylum, a workshop from the lawyer Barbara Wessel and counselling from the Refugee Law Clinic, were a highlight for the refugee women. Barbara Wessel had to answer lots of collective questions, while the Refugee Law Clinic gave counselling to individual refugee women.

Karolina Lopez Barrera from Casa Mariposa in AZ (USA) gave a workshop on the difficulties and violence experienced by LGBTQ I+ migrants and refugees and why they offer safe housing for them. Karolina also spoke under the theme of Gender perspectives where she gave her own experience as an Afro-Latin American transwoman and why she now fights for the rights of LGBTIQ especially those without papers.

Another main topic was Climate crisis and contested territories – political, ecological, economic and cultural reasons for displacement and forced resettlement. We had speakers from IMPACT Kenya (Elizabeth Silakan and Laissa Kaunga) who showed a film on YouTube titled “Exiled in Tradition”. This was under the topic of migration due to climate crisis and their ongoing fight for the rights of nomadic women in Northern Kenya. They also talked about their fight against female genital mutilation and gender-based violence.

Our guest from Reach-Out, Sanchita Basu spoke on the topic: “We are not alone. How can we overcome racism together?”

The topic of racism was also thematised by Marianne Ballé from PAWLO: “What is empowerment – If we consider racism from a Pan-African and intersectional perspective?” 

Isis Amador Campusano and Ruth Pion Vizcaino from the Junta de Prietas in the Dominican Republic spoke in their workshop on Racism as an historical continuity in the Dominican Republic, touching on Colonialism, Nationalism and Migration.

Part of the Praxis topic was the Aquerpamiento/traditional healing for political refugees and migrants. With fleeing and migration comes different problems suffered by the body; leading to physical, mental and political exhaustion. The workshop was a way to educate the women and the different traditional methods we can use to heal ourselves and our bodies.

Part of the Praxis theme was also interreligious conversation and empowering singing. Our workshops were not only about sitting and learning, but also gave space to have some fun and be creative. With this, we had the workshop “Empowerment Shirts”, where we printed our shirts and bags. This was facilitated by the artist Patricia Vester in cooperation with the Autonomous Women’s Centre Potsdam e.V. /KOMPLIZIN*.

On Saturday, most of the workshops were health oriented. We had different workshops led by different speakers. One of them was, the “Decolonial Plant Knowledge” where Rebecca Abenna Kennedy-Asante taught us about the different plants which can be used for healing. This workshop was open to BIPOC only.

The second was called Casa la Serena with speakers Nallely Tello Mendez and Anamaria Hernandez Cardenas from Mexico who spoke about the temporary sanctuary in Mexico (Oaxaca) which is for recovery, healing, and rest for human rights activists, who are in situations of extreme tiredness, and emotional or physical exhaustion.

Under the theme collective Experience and group processes, we had Women in Exile & Friends present their ongoing Archive project and also talk about the importance of the group archiving their work themselves.

Under the theme of Women’s movements and feminism from the Global South, we had two workshops. One was given by Carolina Garcia Catano, who is based in Senegal. Unfortunately, she had tested positive for Covid 19. Regardless, the workshop was still given via Zoom. Their topic was free technologies for women empowerment. They talked about the current project they had about educating women in technology. Since they needed to be self-sufficient, they have started another project where they own and run a restaurant. The money from the restaurant is then used for the initial project.

Another workshop on the same theme was Territorial and communal feminism* given by Chahim A’jam Vasquez Leal from “La red de Sandoras Ancentrales del Feminismo Comunitario en lximulew” from Guatemala. She spoke on territorial feminism* that was developed in 2003 by indigenous Mayan and Xinka women*.

Under the theme of Gender perspectives, FLINTA*STADT facilitated a workshop, where we build a model of a patriarchal free city. This city was build, taking into account, what we need to be able to live and enjoy our freedom together, and the structures needed so that people are not marginalized. In the end, we had a model city with different amenities which could relate to everyone.

On Friday and Saturday, we had podium discussions in the evening with the speakers of the day where they discussed the central aspects of the day. On Friday the topic was Reasons to flee and the struggles of FLINTA/women*. On Saturday, the topic was Self-care and health practices.

We closed with a ceremony with the interreligious choir and the question: How can we continue to build an international network? Finally, those who were not travelling joined us in a Demo in front of the Humboldt Forum against colonialism.

Our International Conference would not have been able to run as smoothly as it did, were it not for all the support that we got from our networks. We had the support of Medibüro with the Covid-Testing. Then the Sleeping Place Organisation was supported by IL, live translations into the 5-6 different languages was present during the whole conference. Childcare was provided by KIKO during each day’s activities, thus allowing the parents to fully take part in ongoing discussions. There was also an information table, ensuring there was always someone on hand to help when needed.

As the conference was international, it also brought forth different cultures and allowed its exchange. This was particularly seen during meal times since each meal was a different cuisine cooked by Women in Exile and Friends and our supporters.

The party was another highlight for those who still had the energy on Saturday night to dance and continue with the celebration.

Comments are closed.

Language switcher

Stay in touch!

Wenn du auf unsere Unterstützer*in-Mailingliste möchtest, kannst du auf diesen  link unten klicken und dich/sich auf unserer Liste eintragen: Unterstützer*in  Wenn du/Sie unsere Infomails bestellen möchtest/möchten, kannst du/können Sie auf den Link unten klicken und dich/sich auf unserer Liste eintragen: Infomails bestellen

Unterstützt uns

Wenn du an unserer Arbeit interessiert bist oder uns unterstützen willst, melde dich doch einfach!

Email: info(at)women-in-exile(dot)net

Geldspenden:
Spenden-Konto:
Women in Exile e.V.
IBAN: DE21430609671152135400
BIC: GENODEM1GLS (GLS Bank)
Spendenquittung für Einmalspenden bis 200 € zum selbst ausdrucken hier. Für das Ausstellen von Spendenquittungen benötigen wir Deine/Ihre Anschrift.

Danke!

Unsere Arbeit wird gefördert von:






Viral fonds postcode logo
rls logo

BERICHT: 20 Jahre Women in Exile & Friends „Grenzen brechen, um Brücken zu bauen“ – Internationale Konferenz

Unsere internationale Konferenz „Breaking Borders to Build Bridges“ haben wir am 5.8.2022 in der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung Berlin mit einer Eröffnungsfeier und einem kraftvollen Auftritt und Gesang unseres frisch gegründeten interreligiösen Chors eröffnet. Anwesend waren nationale und internationale Gäste, insgesamt 250 Frauen* und Kinder. Die Internationale Konferenz war mit vielen Aktivitäten verbunden und musste daher auch in dieser Größenordnung stattfinden. Die Veranstaltung diente der Feier von 20 Jahren Women in Exile und der Vorstellung unseres gemeinsam von Women in Exile & Friends und Unterstützerinnen verfassten Buches.

Für die gesamte Konferenz hatte Women in Exile & Friends verschiedene Themen für die Workshops geplant. In den Workshops ging es um geschlechtsspezifische Gründe für die Flucht: Ausbeutung, Marginalisierung und Gewalt.

In einer Podiumsdiskussion mit Aktivistinnen aus unseren Netzwerken von IWS, Flit* Solidarity Africa, Respect und Aktivisten von WIE Rostock und WIE ging es um das Thema: „Was bedeutet es, mit unsicherem Aufenthalt oder ohne Papiere zu leben?“ Es wurden Erfahrungen ausgetauscht und Lösungsvorschläge diskutiert.

In einer weiteren Podiumsdiskussion sprachen Frauen aus u.a. Afghanistan und der Ukraine über Krieg und Frauen. Die Schwierigkeiten, die Frauen in diesen Ländern durchmachen, und alle Länder, in denen Krieg herrscht, zum Beispiel Jemen. Frauen sind diejenigen, die am meisten von Kriegen betroffen sind. Als Opfer militärischer Aggressionen erfahren sie vielfältiges Leid und sind ein wichtiger Teil des zivilen Widerstands: als Vertriebene, Schlüsselkräfte (z. B. im Gesundheitswesen), Freiwillige, Gemeindeleiterinnen, Spendensammlerinnen, Kämpferinnen und Aktivistinnen. Auf diesem Podium wurde auch über die Erfahrungen von Frauen aus dem Iran berichtet.

Zum Thema Solidarität und Praxis gab Florence Sissako einen Workshop darüber, was Solidarität ist und wie sie im täglichen Leben gelebt wird. Florence leitete auch die Lesung aus unserem Buch „Breaking Border to Build Bridges“.

 Ein Highlight für die Flüchtlingsfrauen waren die Themen zum Asylrecht, ein Workshop mit der Rechtsanwältin Barbara Wessel und die Beratung durch die Refugee Law Clinic. Barbara Wessel musste viele kollektive Fragen beantworten, während die Refugee Law Clinic einzelne Flüchtlingsfrauen beriet.

Karolina Lopez Barrera von Casa Mariposa in AZ (USA) gab einen Workshop über die Schwierigkeiten und die Gewalt, die LGBTIQ Migrant*innen und Flüchtlinge erleben, und warum sie ihnen eine sichere Unterkunft bieten. Karolina sprach auch zum Thema Gender-Perspektiven, wo sie ihre eigenen Erfahrungen als afro-lateinamerikanische Transfrau schilderte und erklärte, warum sie jetzt für die Rechte von LGBTIQ kämpft, insbesondere für diejenigen ohne Papiere.

Ein weiteres Hauptthema war die Klimakrise und umkämpfte Gebiete – politische, ökologische, wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Gründe für Vertreibung und Zwangsumsiedlung. Wir hatten Referentinnen von IMPACT Kenia (Elizabeth Silakan und Laissa Kaunga), die einen Film auf YouTube mit dem Titel „Exiled in Tradition“ zeigten. Darin ging es um die Migration aufgrund der Klimakrise und um ihren Kampf für die Rechte von Nomadenfrauen in Nordkenia. Sie sprachen auch über ihren Kampf gegen weibliche Genitalverstümmelung und geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt.

Unser Gast von Reach-Out, Sanchita Basu, sprach über das Thema: „Wir sind nicht allein. Wie können wir Rassismus gemeinsam überwinden?“

Das Thema Rassismus wurde auch von Marianne Ballé von PAWLO thematisiert: „Was ist Empowerment – wenn wir Rassismus aus einer panafrikanischen und intersektionalen Perspektive betrachten?“. Isis Amador Campusano und Ruth Pion Vizcaino von der „Junta de Prietas“ in der Dominikanischen Republik sprachen in ihrem Workshop über Rassismus als historische Kontinuität in der Dominikanischen Republik und berührten dabei die Themen Kolonialismus, Nationalismus und Migration.

Teil des Praxisthemas war das Aquerpamiento/traditionelle Heilung für politische Flüchtlinge und Migrant*innen. Mit Flucht und Migration gehen verschiedene Probleme einher, die den Körper belasten und zu körperlicher, geistiger und politischer Erschöpfung führen. Der Workshop diente dazu, die Frauen über die verschiedenen traditionellen Methoden aufzuklären, die wir anwenden können, um uns und unseren Körper zu heilen.

Teil des Praxis-Themas waren auch interreligiöse Gespräche und ermutigendes Singen.

Denn in unseren Workshops ging es nicht nur darum, zu sitzen und zu lernen, sondern auch darum, Spaß zu haben und kreativ zu sein. So gab es auch den Workshop „Empowerment Shirts“, bei dem wir unsere T-Shirts und Taschen bedruckten. Dieser wurde von der Künstlerin Patricia Vester in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Autonomen Frauenzentrum Potsdam e.V. /KOMPLIZIN* geleitet.

Am Samstag waren die meisten Workshops gesundheitsorientiert. Wir hatten verschiedene Workshops, die von unterschiedlichen Referentinnen geleitet wurden. Einer davon war der Workshop „Dekoloniales Pflanzenwissen“, in dem uns Rebecca Abenna Kennedy-Asante über die verschiedenen Pflanzen unterrichtete, die zur Heilung verwendet werden können. Dieser Workshop war nur für BIPOC zugänglich.

Der zweite hieß „Casa la Serena“ mit den Referentinnen Nallely Tello Mendez und Anamaria Hernandez Cardenas aus Mexiko, die über die temporäre Zuflucht in Mexiko (Oaxaca) sprachen, die der Erholung, Heilung und Ruhe für Menschenrechtsaktivistinnen dient, die sich in Situationen extremer Müdigkeit und emotionaler oder körperlicher Erschöpfung befinden.

Unter dem Thema kollektive Erfahrungen und Gruppenprozesse stellten Women in Exile & Friends ihr laufendes Archivprojekt vor und sprachen über die Bedeutung der Archivierung ihrer Arbeit durch die Gruppe selbst.

Unter dem Thema Frauenbewegungen und Feminismus aus dem Globalen Süden gab es zwei Workshops. Einer wurde von Carolina Garcia Catano gehalten, die im Senegal lebt. Leider war sie positiv auf Covid 19 getestet worden. Der Workshop wurde trotzdem über Zoom abgehalten. Ihr Thema waren freie Technologien zur Stärkung der Rolle der Frau. Sie sprach über ihr aktuelles Projekt, bei dem es um die Ausbildung von Frauen im Technologiebereich geht. Da sie sich selbst versorgen mussten, haben sie ein weiteres Projekt gestartet, bei dem sie ein Restaurant besitzen und betreiben. Das Geld aus dem Restaurant wird dann für das ursprüngliche Projekt verwendet.

Ein weiterer Workshop zum gleichen Thema war Territorialer und kommunaler Feminismus* von Chahim A’jam Vasquez Leal von „La red de Sandoras Ancentrales del Feminismo Comunitario en lximulew“ aus Guatemala. Sie sprach über den territorialen Feminismus*, der 2003 von indigenen Maya- und Xinka-Frauen* entwickelt wurde.

Unter dem Thema Geschlechterperspektiven leitete FLINTA*STADT einen Workshop, in dem wir ein Modell einer patriarchatsfreien Stadt bauten. Beim Bau dieser Stadt wurde berücksichtigt, was wir brauchen, um gemeinsam zu leben und unsere Freiheit zu genießen, und welche Strukturen nötig sind, damit Menschen nicht ausgegrenzt werden. Am Ende hatten wir eine Modellstadt mit verschiedenen Annehmlichkeiten, die für alle zugänglich waren.

Am Freitag und Samstag gab es abends Podiumsdiskussionen mit den Referentinnen des Tages, in denen sie die zentralen Aspekte des Tages diskutierten. Am Freitag ging es um Fluchtursachen und die Kämpfe von FLINTA/Frauen*. Am Samstag war das Thema Selbstfürsorge und Gesundheitspraktiken.

Wir schlossen mit einer Zeremonie mit dem interreligiösen Chor und der Frage: Wie können wir weiterhin ein internationales Netzwerk aufbauen? Diejenigen, die nicht anreisten, schlossen sich schließlich einer Demo gegen Kolonialismus vor dem Humboldt-Forum an.

Unsere Internationale Konferenz hätte nicht so reibungslos ablaufen können, wenn wir nicht so viel Unterstützung aus unseren Netzwerken bekommen hätten. Wir hatten die Unterstützung des Medibüros mit dem Covid-Testing. Dann wurde die Schlafplatzorganisation von der IL unterstützt, Live-Übersetzungen in die 5-6 verschiedenen Sprachen waren während der gesamten Konferenz präsent. Die Kinderbetreuung wurde von KIKO während der täglichen Aktivitäten angeboten, so dass die Eltern in vollem Umfang an den laufenden Diskussionen teilnehmen konnten. Außerdem gab es einen Informationstisch, so dass bei Bedarf immer jemand zur Stelle war, der helfen konnte.

Da es sich um eine internationale Konferenz handelte, kamen auch verschiedene Kulturen zum Vorschein und konnten ausgetauscht werden. Dies zeigte sich vor allem bei den Mahlzeiten, denn bei jeder Mahlzeit gab es eine andere Küche, die von Women in Exile & Friends und unseren Unterstützerinnen zubereitet wurde.

Die Party war ein weiterer Höhepunkt für diejenigen, die am Samstagabend noch die Energie hatten, zu tanzen und weiter zu feiern.

Comments are closed.