Language switcher

Stay in touch!

If you would like to join our supporters mailing list, you can click on this link below and subscribe to our list:

Supporter

If you would like to join our new mailing list to keep updated on our work, you can click on this link below and subscribe to our list

Infomails

Support us

Wenn du an unserer Arbeit interessiert bist oder uns unterstützen willst, melde dich doch einfach!

Email: info(at)women-in-exile(dot)net

Geldspenden:
Spenden-Konto:
Women in Exile e.V.
IBAN: DE21430609671152135400
BIC: GENODEM1GLS (GLS Bank)
Spendenquittung für Einmalspenden bis 200 € zum selbst ausdrucken hier. Für das Ausstellen von Spendenquittungen benötigen wir Deine/Ihre Anschrift.

Thanks!

Our work is supported by:




Viral fonds
postcode logo
rls logo

REPORT: 20 Years Women in Exile & Friends “Breaking Borders to Build Bridges” – International Conference

We kicked off our International conference “Breaking Borders to Build Bridges” with an opening ceremony on the 4.8.2022 in the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung Berlin with a powerful performance and singing of our freshly formed interreligious choir. In attendance were national and internal guests, overall 250 women* and children. The International conference carried a lot of activities and thus had to be of the same magnitude. The event was meant to celebrate 20 years of Women in Exile and the launching of our collectively self-written book by both women in exile & friends and supporters.

For the whole conference, Women in Exile & Friends had planned different themes for the workshops. We had workshops geared towards gender-specific reasons to flee; exploitation, marginalization and violence.

In a panel discussion with activists from our networks from IWS, Flit* Solidarity Africa, Respect and activists from WIE Rostock and WIE, the topic was: “What does it mean to live with insecure residence or without papers?” Experiences were shared and suggestions for solutions were discussed.

Continue reading REPORT: 20 Years Women in Exile & Friends “Breaking Borders to Build Bridges” – International Conference

20 years Women in Exile & Friends – “Breaking Borders to Build Bridges” International Conference

Click here – International Conference Programme

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-1.png

Registration is now open for the conference

More information about the conference can be found on this page.


Register now to secure your spot at the conference in August with this Google form.

Room Descriptions – International Women’s* Conference

French

Farsi

On the occasion of our twentieth anniversary, we are organizing the International Women’s* Conference from August 4 to 7, 2022 in Berlin: Breaking Borders to Build Bridges. 20 Years of Women in Exile & Friends. We will make the international feminist struggles visible, analyse them and develop further the practices in exchange. We will pay special attention to the situation of refugee women*. We start from our individual and collective experiences, from our spaces of resistance and support. This resistance is crucial for surviving and overcoming racist, sexist and exclusionary practices, because before, during, and after fleeing our communities and regions, we face massive discriminations.

We call on refugee women*, feminists, and friends in solidarity to weave together experiences by sharing our analyses and practices of the economic, political, cultural, and social causes of displacement in different parts of the world today.

During these four days, seven thematic spaces will be open where we will host various participatory workshops, experience-sharing sessions, collective readings, audiovisual screenings, and cultural and artistic exhibitions. Each day will conclude with a gathering to collect the main reflections of the day.

Thematic spaces

1. Gender Causes of Flight: Exploitation, Exclusion and Violence

2. Climate Change and Disputed Territories: Political, Environmental, Economic, and Cultural Causes of Displacement and Forced Relocation  

3. Solidarity and Practice: What is Solidarity and How is it Lived in Everyday Life?

4. Structural and Personal Racism: Effects of State Refugee Policies on Refugee Women* and Resistance to them

5. Health and spaces of healing. Health care for all – without racism

6. Women* Movements and Feminisms from the Global South

7. Reading of the collectively written book “Women in Exile – Breaking Borders to Build Bridges” and Conversations about Archiving

International Women’s Conference – 20 Years Women in Exile

Weaving experiences, building networks. Analysis of the political, economic and colonial causes of forced displacement.

Women in Exile and Friends are celebrating their 20th anniversary!

Over the past two decades, we have broken many borders. As refugee women, we are constantly confronted with visible and invisible borders. At these borders, refugee women’s autonomy and freedom of movement are regimented, their choice of where and how to live is externally determined. Access to health care is precarious and inefficient. Work bans drive people into dependence on arbitrary authority or into irregular employment. Asylum policies foster a social climate in which refugees are dehumanized and devalued. 

As organized refugee women, we encourage each other in the fight against sexism and racism. We reiterate our call for the abolition of all camps. We continue discussions about the political motivations that drive people into exile. We will make it clear that we are not alone or isolated, but that we share struggles and successes. We are part of a global human community. We collected our knowledge and experiences in our book “Women in Exile – Breaking Borders to Build Bridges” which will be published on the occasion of the International Women Conference.  

We invite all refugee women and friends in solidarity to come to the conference!

Let’s build a world without borders, a world that overcomes the effects of colonization and ends exploitation and plunder.   

For the right to come, the right to go, and the right to STAY!

Women in Exile & Friends

Language switcher

Stay in touch!

Wenn du auf unsere Unterstützer*in-Mailingliste möchtest, kannst du auf diesen  link unten klicken und dich/sich auf unserer Liste eintragen: Unterstützer*in  Wenn du/Sie unsere Infomails bestellen möchtest/möchten, kannst du/können Sie auf den Link unten klicken und dich/sich auf unserer Liste eintragen: Infomails bestellen

Unterstützt uns

Wenn du an unserer Arbeit interessiert bist oder uns unterstützen willst, melde dich doch einfach!

Email: info(at)women-in-exile(dot)net

Geldspenden:
Spenden-Konto:
Women in Exile e.V.
IBAN: DE21430609671152135400
BIC: GENODEM1GLS (GLS Bank)
Spendenquittung für Einmalspenden bis 200 € zum selbst ausdrucken hier. Für das Ausstellen von Spendenquittungen benötigen wir Deine/Ihre Anschrift.

Danke!

Unsere Arbeit wird gefördert von:






Viral fonds postcode logo
rls logo

Die Registrierung für die Konferenz ist ab sofort möglich

Weitere Informationen zur Konferenz finden Sie auf dieser Seite.


Melden Sie sich jetzt an, um sich Ihren Platz auf der Konferenz im August zu sichern mit diesem Formular.

Internationale Frauen*konferenz – Raum Beschreibungen

Anlässlich unseres zwanzigjährigen Bestehens veranstalten wir vom 4. bis zum 7. August 2022 in Berlin die Internationale Frauen*konferenz: Breaking Borders to Build Bridges. 20 Jahren Women in Exile & Friends. Wir werden die internationalen feministischen Kämpfe sichtbar machen, analysieren und die Praxen im Austausch weiterentwickeln. Ein besonderes Augenmerk legen wir auf die Situation geflüchteter Frauen*. Wir gehen aus von unseren individuellen und kollektiven Erfahrungen, von unseren Räumen des Widerstands und der Unterstützung. Dieser Widerstand ist für das Überleben und die Überwindung der rassistischen, sexistischen und ausgrenzenden Praktiken von entscheidender Bedeutung. Denn vor, während und nach der Flucht aus unseren Gemeinschaften und Regionen sind wir massiven Diskriminierungen ausgesetzt. 

Wir rufen Flüchtlingsfrauen*, Feministinnen und solidarische Freundinnen dazu auf, die Erfahrungen zu verweben, indem wir unsere Analysen und Praxen zu den wirtschaftlichen, politischen, kulturellen und sozialen Ursachen von Vertreibung in verschiedenen Teilen der heutigen Welt miteinander austauschen. 

Während dieser vier Tage werden sieben Themenräume geöffnet sein, in denen wir verschiedene partizipatorische Workshops, Erfahrungsaustausch-Sitzungen, kollektive Lesungen, audiovisuelle Vorführungen und kulturelle und künstlerische Ausstellungen veranstalten. Jeder Tag wird mit einer Versammlung abgeschlossen, in der die wichtigsten Überlegungen des Tages gesammelt werden. 

Thematische Räume 

1. Geschlechtsspezifische Fluchtursachen: Ausbeutung, Ausgrenzung und Gewalt

2. Klimawandel und umstrittene Territorien: Politische, ökologische, wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Gründe für Vertreibung und Zwangsumsiedlung 

3. Solidarität und Praxis: Was ist Solidarität und wie wird sie im Alltag gelebt?

4. Struktureller und persönlicher Rassismus: Auswirkungen der staatlichen Flüchtlingspolitik auf geflüchtete Frauen* und der Widerstand dagegen

5. Gesundheit und Räume der Heilung. Gesundheitsversorgung für alle – ohne Rassismus

6. Frauen*bewegungen und Feminismen aus dem globalen Süden

7. Lesung aus dem kollektiv geschriebenen Buch „Women in Exile – Breaking Borders to Build Bridges“ und Gespräche über Archivierung 

Continue reading Internationale Frauen*konferenz – Raum Beschreibungen

Internationale Frauenkonferenz – 20 Jahre Women in Exile

Erfahrungen austauschen, Netzwerke aufbauen. Analyse der politischen, wirtschaftlichen und kolonialen Ursachen von Zwangsvertreibung

Women in Exile and Friends feiern ihr 20-jähriges Bestehen!

Im Laufe der letzten zwei Jahrzehnte haben wir zahlreiche Grenzen durchbrochen. Als Flüchtlingsfrauen sind wir immer wieder mit sichtbaren und unsichtbaren Grenzen konfrontiert. An diesen Grenzen werden Autonomie und Bewegungsfreiheit von Flüchtlingsfrauen reglementiert, ihre Entscheidung, wo und wie sie leben wollen, fremdbestimmt. Der Zugang zu Gesundheitsversorgung ist prekär und ineffizient. Durch Arbeitsverbote werden Menschen in die Abhängigkeit von Behördenwillkür oder in irreguläre Beschäftigungsverhältnisse getrieben. Die Asylpolitik fördert ein gesellschaftliches Klima, in dem Flüchtlinge entmenschlicht und abgewertet werden. 

Als organisierte Flüchtlingsfrauen stärken wir uns im Kampf gegen Sexismus und Rassismus gegenseitig. Wir bekräftigen unsere Forderung nach der Abschaffung aller Lager bekräftigt. Wir setzen die Diskussionen über die politischen Beweggründe, die Menschen ins Exil treiben, fort. Wir werden deutlich machen, dass wir nicht allein oder isoliert sind, sondern dass wir Kämpfe und Erfolge teilen, dass wir Teil einer globalen menschlichen Gemeinschaft sind. Unser Wissen und unsere Erfahrungen haben wir in unserem Buch „Women in Exile – Breaking Borders to Build Bridges“ festgehalten, das anlässlich der International Women Conference veröffentlicht wird.

Wir laden alle Flüchtlingsfrauen und solidarischen Freundinnen ein, zur Konferenz zu kommen!

Lasst uns an einer Welt ohne Grenzen bauen, einer Welt, die die Auswirkungen der Kolonisierung überwindet und die Ausbeutung und Plünderung beendet.   

Für das Recht zu kommen, das Recht zu gehen, und das Recht zu BLEIBEN!

Women in Exile & Friends